DIY Bookcase

So what happens on a normal Monday afternoon around 4pm at my apartment, not usually me having a “I am in the mood to clean the living room” attack and defiently not the “Lets head to Lowes at 6pm and build a bookshelf”. Well that is what happened last Monday night, which resulted in a awesome bookcase fit for all of our stuff and the random corner in our living room. Now I just need to decide what color(s) I want to paint my first piece of DIY furniture. Here are some of the colors I am thinking about …

Paint Colors for the Bookcase

Paint Colors for the Bookcase

Next comes the fun part, which was building the bookcase! First it started with me going into Lowes with only the size of the bookcase that I wanted. I literally had no idea what wood, screws, brackets , etc that I was going to get till I wandered around and figured it out. I ended up getting MDF boards to make the bookcase ( they were cheap ). I got 2 72” height boards and then got another board cut down (at the store) to give me 14” wide shelves. All I added to my material was a level, L-brackets for the shelves, and some wood screws! Thats it ,so $30 in materials and here is what I built! I am pretty proud of myself and must say, that as a college student I have bought quite a few ‘cheap’ bookcases over the last 5 years, and this one holds alot of stuff!!!!

 

Putting the L-Bracekts on to hold the shelves.

Putting the L-Bracekts on to hold the shelves.

Shelves are in and it's starting to take shape

Shelves are in and it’s starting to take shape

Its all put together and in it's spot

Its all put together and in it’s spot

Spontaeous DIY leads to a mess on the kitchen floor.

Spontaneous DIY leads to a mess on the kitchen floor.

All the stuff on it now.. Just need to figure out a paint color and organize!

All the stuff on it now.. Just need to figure out a paint color and organize!

Leave a Reply

